Oscar Results

So, I figured now (way after the Oscars) would be a good time to reflect on my predictions. I didn’t do great at predicting but hey, I got Best Picture right which is an accomplishment in itself.

Best Picture

Prediction: Moonlight

Winner: Moonlight

So my theorizing was rather spot on here. I will say when I was watching the Oscars I was surprised by how many wins La La Land didn’t pull in but with the winner of Best Director being announced I started to think La La Land will win. So I ended up being surprised by the results like everyone else.

Actor in a Leading Role

Prediction: Ryan Gosling

Winner: Casey Afflect

This one surprised me-Ryan Gosling did a great job in La La Land and in a night where Manchester by the Sea didn’t do so hot it was even more surprising.

Actress in a Leading Role

Prediction: Natalie Portman

Winner: Emma Stone

In hind sight I do feel that Emma Stone earned her Oscar. She did take on a complex role and sold it very well.

Best Supporting Actor

Prediction: Lucas Hedges

Winner: Mahershala Ali

I am very happy with the winner, and honestly Mahershala Ali was the person I was rooting for anyways.

Best Supporting Actress

Prediction: Viola Davis

Prediction: Viola Davis

Well deserved Oscar. I just wish her speech was a little more structured than it was. Even so, she had one of the three most memorable speeches of the night.

Best Animated Film

Prediction: Zootopia

Winner: Zootopia

A good choice in a year of great animated films.

Cinematography

Prediction: La La Land

Winner: La La Land

Lets be frank here: La La Land was, from the beginning basically guaranteed to win this and the music categories.

Best Costumes

Prediction: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Winner: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Reading more into the costumes from FBWFT I was impressed about the thought process that went into the material and color selection for the costumes. With that in mind I am even more happy than before about the HP movies series getting its first Oscar win.

Directing

Prediction: La La Land

Winner: Damien Chazelle

The more I come to understand about La La Land the more I feel Damien Chazelle put his heart and soul into this film. I have not seen any of his other films but I have the feeling that from now on he will be one of the most sought out directors in Hollywood.

Best Documentary

Prediction: Life, Animated

Winner: O.J

A correction from my previous post. Life, Animated is not an animated film like I thought it was. As I had not seen any of the films in the documentary category I went off of a general understanding of the films to select who would win. That being said, I would of never expected a movie about O.J to ever win. I will say that the speech which was given when receiving the award made me feel a little better about the win though.

Best Editing

Prediction: Arrival

Winner: Hacksaw Ridge

I was generally surprised by how many wins Hacksaw Ridge received. I stick by that Arrival should have won.

Best Makeup and Hairstying

Prediction: Star Trek Beyond

Winner: Suicide Squad

Though Killer Croc’s makeup was quite impressive, I think Start Trek did a better job in making interesting designs. Also, the idea that the DCEU won an Oscar before MCU is really strange.

Best Score

Prediction: La La Land

Winner: La La Land

Not surprising. Though I honestly don’t think the score was the best from the nominations.

Best Original Song

Prediction: Audition

Winner: City of Stars

Though not my favorite song nominated, I was pretty sure La La Land was going to win in this category. My selection of Audition was arbitrary.

Best Production Design

Prediction: La La Land

Winner: La La Land

Called it!

Best Animated Short

Prediction: Blind Vaysha

Winner: Piper

Piper is adorable but I feel it deserves an award for visuals more than story. Still, I can’t hate that it won. It’s just so cute.

Sound Editing

Prediction: La La Land

Winner: Arrival

I am happy Arrival got an Oscar… I just wish it was in one of the main categories. It is a great movie I feel that it was robbed of the recognition it deserved.

Sound Mixing

Prediction: Rouge One

Winner: Hacksaw Ridge

I don’t really have a strong opinion on this.

Visual Effects

Prediction: Kubo and the Two Strings

Winner: The Jungle Book

I stick by that Kubo and the Two Strings should have won BUT The Jungle Book was a good choice. Though I only felt the animals looked real in one scene, the backgrounds were amazing.

Leave a Reply

