Captain Marvel – A Great New Chapter in the Marvel Universe

Vers is a Kree. She fights the Skrulls who have been attacking planets in the Kree empire. On such a mission, she is captured by the Skrulls who start to try to extract memories from Vers. These memories are unfamiliar to Vers though there are people in them that have appeared in her dreams. When she gets out of imprisonment she finds out from one of the Skrulls that they are after the Skrull’s objectiive. After escaping from the Skrulls, she lands on C-53, Earth. Now having information on the goal of the Skrulls, she sets out to stop them and to find out about her past.

It is amazing how each new film in the Marvel cannon hits notes that make them both entertaining and touches on ideas that haven’t been covered before. Captain Marvel could have easily been a generic addition to the universe. Maybe feeling like a Guardians of the Galaxy or the first Captain America film. Ye it doesn’t feel that way. It feels like it has it’s own identity.

Story

The movie feels more complicated than a lot of the other Marvel films. It isn’t hard to follow though.  I would highly recommend going in blind on this film. The promotional materials has been vague for a reason and honestly, there are some things that will easily go into spoiler territory and impact the viewing experience so that is for the best. This film relies heavily on a “twist” but unfortunately if you have familiarity with the comics, or, potentially, if you have seen Guardians of the Galaxy it won’t really come as a surprise.

Characters

I liked the the human characters(Nick Fury, Maria, and so on) I did feel that the Kree characters were never built up well as individuals I didn’t really know hat they were like except for one quick scene. It honestly felt like a scene which was meant to establish the Krees and Vers’ relationship with them was cut as it did feel that things were jumped into mid-progress.

The Skrulls were done… alright. I had a bit of an issue with making the main Skrull a snarky guy as it just felt like it was done since a lot of characters have that as there trait.  Though I would say from my understanding of the Skrulls this isn’t really how they are in the comics, that didn’t really bother me. What DID bother me was the feeling I got that the Skrulls wouldn’t be used in future movies. They have a lot of potential so hopefully I am wrong about that.

Visuals

This movie is all over the place for visuals. Some things look really good like Nick Fury looks pretty good aged down but the cat in the film is clearly cgied most of the time. It feels like they really could have made things feel more even but besides the cat it really didn’t take me out of the movie most of the time. Also, I give a lot of credit to the team for making thing feel so 90s. It is really feels like a 90s summer. I don’t think I have seen a film that has captured that so well (outside of ones from the 90s).

Conclusion

This is a good movie. Is it great? No. But it does something different as an origin story while keeping things generally familiar. I look forward to its sequels.

 

7/10

 

Leave a comment